National Starting Point:  New Orleans, LA, at Tulane Ave and Broad Ave, where it intersects US 90
National Ending Point:  Wyoming, MN, at Exit 135 on I-35
Total Distance:  1,400 miles
States:  LA, MS, TN, AR, MO, IA, WI, MN

Mississippi Starting Point:  Louisiana border south of Woodville, MS
Mississippi Ending Point:  Tennessee border at Memphis, TN
Mississippi Distance:  319.316 miles

Mississippi Counties:  Wilkinson, Adams, Jefferson, Claiborne, Warren, Issaquena, Sharkey, Washington, Bolivar, Coahoma, Tunica, DeSoto
Cities/towns over 5,000 pop served:  Natchez, Vicksburg, Leland, Cleveland, Clarksdale

42.0 miles with US 65 from the Louisiana border to Natchez (US 65 is unsigned here)
6.8 miles with US 84 in Adams County and Natchez
1 mile with MS 552 in northern Jefferson County
0.5 mile with MS 18 in Port Gibson
4.3 miles with I-20 and US 80 in Vicksburg
5.5 miles with MS 14 from Rolling Fork to Anguilla
65 miles with US 278 from Leland to Lyon
1.6 miles with MS 322 in Clarksdale
15.4 miles with US 49 from Lyon to Rich
3.2 miles with MS 4 in Tunica County

NHS:  Entire length

Freeway Segments:  Along multiplex with I-20/US 80

Other Multilane Segments:
From just south of the Buffalo River in Wilkinson County north through Natchez to the Adams/Jefferson County line.
The Fayette bypass in Jefferson County.
From Bayou Pierre north of Port Gibson north to I-20 in Vicksburg.
From I-20 in Vicksburg north to MS 3 in Redwood.
From US 82 near Leland north to the Bolivar/Coahoma County line.
From southwest of Clarksdale to the Tennessee line.

Average Daily Traffic: Ranges from 2,100 in central Washington County to 30,000 in Natchez.

US 61 passes through the heart of the Mississippi Delta.
Before the 1987 Highway Program began, the only stretches of 4-lane were near Natchez, Fayette, Vicksburg, and from Leland to Merigold.   The original 1987 Program advocated 4-laning US 61 except the section between Redwood and US 82.  This section was later added to the Program as part of Phase IV, which has since been rolled into MDOT's "Vision 21" program.
There are three sections of old US 61 still maintained by the state as MS 161.  These are in Clarksdale, Lyon and Walls.

Froggie Suggests:

Back to text index
Back to Magnolia Meanderings